How to make a unique yet simple wreath replacement

Today we will be taking a basic wooden letter and making it something special. These letters are available at most major craft stores for very little money, especially if you take advantage of the weekly coupons offered by these retailers. These letters are basic and boring, but they have the potential to be very chic. These look amazing on front doors as a summer alternative to a heavy wreath. They can be decorated to match any existing color scheme and the possibilities for personal flair are endless!

For this project you will need the wooden letter, acrylic craft paint in the color of your choosing, brushes, a ruler, a pencil, ribbon, hot glue and a paint pallet. This list seems long, I know, but it is actually a simple process.

The first step is to plan out what you’ll be doing. This project is completely customizable to your personal tastes. For my project, I decided to duplicate this chevron pattern. To do this on a shape that wasn’t perfectly rectangular, I made the squares for the chevron as if it was normal. I had to use my ruler to imagine where a line would be so I could get an appropriate angle sometimes, but other than that, it was the same as my previous chevron patterns that I made on canvases.

IMG_1754    IMG_1756

Once you have drawn your boxes and lines and erased all the unnecessary parts, you can use your acrylic paint (one of your crafting essentials) to paint on your design. Remember to use multiple coats to achieve a rich-looking finish. Once your paint has dried, you can spray a clear sealant over the whole thing to make it more durable to weather conditions, or if this will be placed indoors you are done.

IMG_2050    IMG_2053

Following painting, you simply need to cut your ribbon piece as long as you’d like. Think about how much of the ribbon you want to be able to see and how low you’d like your letter to hang. Once you’ve determined the length, cut your ribbon to the desired length and hot glue it or staple it with a staple gun onto the back of the letter.

IMG_2058

Now you have a special looking monogram that is uniquely yours! I hope you’ve enjoyed this project! What variations can you think of trying out? Would you rather do a letter for your first or last name? Let me know in the comments below!

IMG_2065    IMG_2060

3 thoughts on “How to make a unique yet simple wreath replacement

  1. I absolutely love this! I’m not very good at being crafty, and when I am it takes me forever to finish it! But this seems easy enough and I love that you hung it on your door in your dorm room! It was neat to see your own project in all the stages! Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

